Week: May 3-9 2009, Question 3
What makes a sport EXTREME?
Ah the wonderful world of extreme sports, people love this stuff and for a while it had a huge popularity. But what makes any sport extreme? In my opinion the extreme stands for Extreme Stupidity. Basically in order to make a sport extreme you have to do something so stupid that no one else would dare try it. Some like to live life on the edge and do extreme things, they like the adrenaline flow and rush that comes from doing something dangerous. We have taken Extreme to a new level though that now is heading right into the territory of stupidity. We can make driving "Extreme" by doing it in rainy weather with almost no visibility. This leads me to another question that i hope to tackle next week. Why do we value stupidity more than intelligence?
But back to Extreme Idiocy. There are dangerous sports out there and most of them carry a risk of some kind. I respect athletes that do sports that are especially dangerous and i think they can be cool people at times. But what i don't respect are the people that decide slap some rockets onto a canoe and go for "Extreme Canoeing". Perhaps the Darwin awards were started because of these idiots. Oh well i guess i'll go eat a sandwich, It'll be "Extreme" because i'm using a live animal for the meat. Good luck to all sports people out there and please please please don't be idiots for no good reason. You can be idiots, just have a reason for it.
Thought for the day: I want to know when their coming out with "Extreme Boardgames" like full contact chess and checking in checkers.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment